In 2015 The University of Oklahoma needed to replace aging wood dining chairs in the Will Rogers Room, a dinning and common area for OU students located on the first floor of the Oklahoma Memorial Union with a reception style capacity of 350 people.
The University of Oklahoma choose Eustis Chair for the job. After reviewing our chairs, OU selected our elegant and durable Bainbridge Island style. Above all, the Bainbridge Island was quite an upgrade to the Will Rogers Room, as it can stack 6 to 8 chairs high. In addition, it comes with a 20 year warranty.
Similarly, the new stacking wood chairs fit right into the space alongside a 1950’s era jukebox, dancefloor and murals highlighting the life of Will Rogers, the famed Oklahoma writer, actor and comedian.
The University of Oklahoma Memorial Union has a fascinating history. For instance, the building opened in 1928, shortly before the Wall Street crash of 1929 and the start of the Great Depression. As a result, the Union opened with sparse adornments and it took several years to fully furnish it. The original building featured a bookstore, cafeteria, soda fountain, billiards & game room, ballroom, Alumni Association, Union offices and offices for student government.
The original plans included the clock tower, however, due to budget constraints, it was left off. Therefore, in 1936 the clock tower was added with the help of the Work Projects Administration. In 1951, the north and south wings were added, and the original structure was renovated. The Union was not renovated again until 1995, after rigorous fundraising by President David L. Boren and First Lady Molly Shi Boren. Subsequently, the Clarke-Anderson room was added in 1998, and the Archie W. Dunham-Conoco Student Leadership Center was added in 2000 as a new home for student government and student organization offices.
In conclusion, the Oklahoma Memorial Union has served as an important center of campus activity.